terça-feira, 18 de outubro de 2016

The Cal Tjader Trio

AllMusic Review by 

Recorded in the summer and fall of 1951, the eight songs on this 10" LP were the first that Tjader recorded for Fantasy. Jack Weeks was the bassist on these trio sessions, with Vince Guaraldi doing the piano duties on half the tracks and John Marabuto handling them on the others. This was the time in whichTjader's pioneering Latin/jazz/mambo fusion was falling into place. Although the recording is slightly lower in fidelity than that found on most of Tjader's subsequent releases, there's a fresh exuberance to these recordings that renders that loss irrelevant. In addition to playing vibes, Tjader adds drums and bongos himself here and there, and makes infectious rhythms on "Chopsticks Mambo," and "Ivy," as well as putting his vibes to more tender melodic use on the ballad "Lullaby of the Leaves" and Jack Weeks' sprightly "Charley's Quote."

Bass – Jack Weeks 
Piano – John Marabuto (tracks: A1 to A4), Vince Guaraldi (tracks: B1 to B4) 
Vibraphone, Drums – Cal Tjader 

A1 Chopsticks-Mambo 0:00
A2 Vibra-Tharpe 2:49
A3 Three Little Words 5:18 
A4 Lullaby Of The Leaves 8:07 
B1 Ivy 11:21 
B2 Give Me The Simple Life 15:00 
B3 These Foolish Things 18:04 
B4 Charley's Quote 21:26


Released in 1953


Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário