quarta-feira, 19 de outubro de 2016

Emily Remler | Retrospective Vol 2 " Compositions "

AllMusic Review by   [-]

After Emily Remler's untimely death from a heart attack in 1990 at the age of 32, Concord issued two anthologies of her work, although all six of her CDs for the label were still readily available. The guitarist was still blossoming at the time of her last session for the label; this second volume concentrates on her work as a composer. "The Firefly" is a lively hard bop piece in the style of Wes Montogmery, while the very soft, understated "Waltz for My Grandfather" is reminiscent of Jim Hall. "Nunca Mais" is an upbeat samba featuring trumpeter John D'Earth in a pianoless date; a second session with him produced four more Remler tunes, all of which are present on this CD. Her duo date with Larry Coryell didn't include any of her works, so it is not represented in this release. Her last date for the label included "Blues for Herb," a swinging tribute to her friend and fellow guitarist Herb Ellis, and "East to Wes," her compelling impression ofWes Montgomery's early approach to bossa nova. The collected musicians appearing with Remler in this anthology are all of the first caliber, including Hank JonesJames WilliamsEddie Gomez, and Jake Hanna, among others. Sadly, no unreleased recordings of Emily Remler have since emerged from the Concord vault, so this collection in a worthwhile investment if one can't afford to acquire all of her CDs, which is the best recommendation.

1. Mocha Spice 0:00
2. Nunca Mais 4:30
3. Waltz For My Grandfather 9:37
4. Catwalk 16:16
5. Blues For Herb 26:40
6. Transitions 33:08
7. The Firefly 41:11
8. Antonio 45:20
9. Mozambique 49:50

Recording Date

1981 - 1988 

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário