sexta-feira, 4 de setembro de 2015

Thelonious Monk | At The Blackhawk

AllMusic Review by 

Thelonious Monk's 1960 quartet (which also includes tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse, bassist John Ore and (for a brief period) drummer Billy Higgins is augmented on this live session by two guests: trumpeter Joe Gordon and the tenor of Harold Land. The extra horns uplift the date and add some surprising moments to what otherwise might have been a conventional but still spirited live session. Highlights include "Let's Call This," "Four in One" and a swinging version of "I'm Getting Sentimental over You." 

  1. Let's Call This (Thelonious Monk) – 8:33
  2. Four in One (Monk) – 8:41
  3. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (George Bassman, Ned Washington) – 6:14
  4. Epistrophy (Monk, Kenny Clarke) – 6:41
  5. Evidence (Monk) – 7:09
  6. San Francisco Holiday (Worry Later) (Monk) – 9:10
  7. 'Round Midnight (Monk, Cootie Williams, Bernie Hanighen) – 12:07
  8. Epistrophy (Monk, Clarke) – 0:59

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário