quinta-feira, 24 de maio de 2018

Chet Baker / Chet Is Back

AllMusic Review by 

Recorded in Italy in 1962, Chet Is Back! showcases the "cool" trumpeter cutting loose on such bop-oriented workouts as "Pent-Up House" and "Well, You Needn't." Backed skillfully by a young cadre of up-and-coming European musicians, including the stellar saxophonist Bobby JasparChet Baker may have never sounded better, including on the ballads. One listen to "Over the Rainbow" and it's clear this is an overlooked Baker classic. [Fans should check out the 2003 reissue of Chet Is Back!, which includes four orchestral pop bonus tracks Baker recorded with Ennio Morricone around the same time as this session.]

Read more

Chet Baker
Chet Is Back 



Chet Is Back! was recorded in Rome, Italy in 1962 at RCA's Studios, showcasing bop-oriented tunes such as "Pent-Up House" and "Well, You Needn't". The Chet Baker Sextet consisted of a group of up-and-coming European jazz musicians, which included Belgian saxophonist Bobby Jaspar, Belgian guitarist Rene Thomas, Italian pianist Amedeo Tommasi, French bassist Benoit Quersin, and Swiss drummer Daniel Humair.

Track listing  

  1. "Well, You Needn't" (Thelonious Monk) - 6:23
  2. "These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)" (Harry LinkHolt MarvellJack Strachey) - 4:56
  3. "Barbados" (Charlie Parker) - 8:26
  4. "Star Eyes" (Don RayeGene de Paul) - 6:58
  5. "Over the Rainbow" (Harold ArlenTed Koehler) - 3:30
  6. "Pent-Up House" (Sonny Rollins) - 6:51
  7. "Ballata in forma di blues" (Amedeo Tommasi) - 10:06
  8. "Blues In the Closet" (Oscar Pettiford) - 7:41
Bonus Tracks on some CD reissues
  1. "Chetty's Lullaby" (Chet Baker, Alessandro Maffei) - 4:04
  2. "So che ti perderò" (Baker, Maffei) - 4:16
  3. "Motivo su raggio di luna" (Baker, Maffei) - 3:53
  4. "Il mio domani" (Baker, Maffei) - 5:21


Tracks 1-8   
Tracks 9-12
  • Chet Baker – vocals, trumpet
  • Ennio Morricone - Conductor
  • Ennio Morricone and his Orchestra - strings, horns, percussion

Production notes   
  • Daniel Baumgarten - producer (Tracks 1-8)
  • Joshua Sherman - producer (Tracks 9-12)
  • Jean-Pierre Chalbos - engineer (Tracks 1-8)
  • Michael O. Drexler - engineer (Tracks 9-12)

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário