sábado, 12 de agosto de 2017

Patti Austin | For Ella | Vitoria-Gasteiz 2017

Grammy-winning singer, as well as an indispensable session vocalist whose diverse career goes back to the mid-'60s. 
Read Full Biography

AllMusic Review by   [-]

Patti Austin is well qualified to record an album in the style of Ella Fitzgerald, having spent her career shadowing the paths taken by Fitzgerald and her contemporaries. Although she has worked in R&B-oriented adult pop much of the time, she is clearly in the tradition of Fitzgerald, and in 1988 she even recorded an album of standards that she tellingly titled The Real MeFor Ella easily could be the sequel to that collection. Austin traveled to Köln, Germany, to record a program of songs associated with Fitzgerald with the WDR Big Band conducted by Patrick Williams. Many of the songs, of course, are just ones Fitzgerald happened to sing but that have broader associations as well, such as George & Ira Gershwin's "Our Love Is Here to Stay" and "The Man I Love," though others, such as "A Tisket a Tasket," inevitably evoke FitzgeraldAustin does not, for the most part, attempt to sing in Fitzgerald's style, giving listeners her own interpretations that, in Williams' neo-swing arrangements, nevertheless hark back to the 1950s. That's fine for the most part, though the version of "Miss Otis Regrets," which treats it as a gospel performance in the manner of Mahalia Jackson, without the slightest touch of humor, is a misstep. On two occasions, Austin does copy Fitzgerald, re-creating the scat sections of "You'll Have to Swing It (Mr. Paganini)" and "How High the Moon." That obviates the problem of having to compete with Fitzgerald on her greatest improvisational triumphs, but it's a technical achievement of an odd sort. Austin is better off putting her own stamp on the songs; that she does very well.
Patti Austin
 "For Ella
Tribute to Ella Fitzgerald
41 Festival de Jazz de Vitoria-Gasteiz

Spain, July 14th, 2017

Patti Austin - vocals
Olaf Polziehn - piano
Christian von Kaphengst - bass
Peter Lübke - drums

01. Too Close for Comfort
02. Honeysuckle Rose
03. You'll Have To Swing It (Mr. Paganini)
04. Our Love Is Here to Stay
05. A Tisket, A Tasket
06. Miss Otis Regrets
07. Hard Hearted Hanna (The Vamp Of Savannah)
08. But Nor for Me
09. Satin Doll
10. The Man I Love
11. How High the Moon
- Encore:
12. Hearing Ella Sing

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário