sexta-feira, 21 de julho de 2017

Ella Fitzgerald | Ella Abraça Jobim

The greatest female interpreter of the American songbook, a unique vocalist combining scat and jazz, with enduring influence. 
Read Full Biography

AllMusic Review by   [-]

For years, "The Girl fom Ipanema" was a staple in Ella Fitzgerald's songbook, so it's something of a wonder that it was not until 1981 that Ella Abraça JobimFitzgerald's double-album immersion in Antonio Carlos Jobim's back catalog, appeared. Ella's first single-composer release since 1964's tribute to Jerome KernElla Abraça Jobim is, more than anything, final proof of the unassuming Brazilian's place in jazz history alongside the great composers. Sadly Jobim's mellow bossa nova, drenched in the Brazilian concept of saudade, or agreeable melancholy, doesn't necessarily gel with Fitzgerald's swing-based and energetic vocal style. Fitzgerald and her small group take songs like "Agua de Beber (Water to Drink)" at just slightly too speedy a tempo, rushing a bit where they should be gamboling. Fitzgerald is in very good voice compared to some other recordings from her later years, though, sadly, she's clearly not at her peak. Norman Granz's production is typically excellent, however, and the arrangements are refreshingly free of the typical late-'70s/early-'80s post-fusion clichés. Neither Fitzgerald nor Jobim's finest, then, but not without merit.

Ella Fitzgerald - Vocals
Clark Terry - Trumpet
Zoot Sims - Tenor Saxophone
Toots Thielemans - Harmonica
Henry Trotter - Keyboards
Mike Lang - Keyboards
Clarence McDonald - Keyboards
Joe Pass - Electric guitar (soloist)
Oscar Castro-Neves - Acoustic guitar (soloist)
Paul Jackson, Jr. - Rhythm guitar
Mitch Holder - Rhythm guitar
Ronald Bautiste - Rhythm guitar
Abraham Laboriel - Double Bass
Alex Acuña - Drums
Paulinho da Costa - Percussion

Recorded - September 17–19, 1980,
March 18–20, 1981 - Hollywood, Los Angeles

"Somewhere in the Hills (Favela)" – 3:56
"The Girl from Ipanema (Garota de Ipanema)" – 3:50
"Dindi" – 6:37
"Off Key (Desafinado)" – 3:41
"Water to Drink (Água de Beber)" – 2:44
"Dreamer (Vivo Sonhando)" – 4:55
"Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)" – 5:40
"Bonita" – 2:50
"One Note Samba (Samba de Uma Nota Só)" – 3:51
"Don't Ever Go Away (Por Causa de Você)" - 2:52
"Triste" – 4:07
"How Insensitive (Insensatez)" – 3:00
"He's a Carioca (Ela é Carioca)" – 5:14
"This Love That I've Found (Só Tinha de Ser com Você)" – 5:17
"A Felicidade" – 2:19
"Wave" – 5:22
"Song of the Jet (Samba do Avião)" – 3:40
"Photograph (Fotografia)" – 3:49
"Useless Landscape (Inútil Paisagem)" – 7:59

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário