quarta-feira, 30 de novembro de 2016

Buddy Fite | Tasty

AllMusic Review by 

Although virtually unknown except by a handful of true believers, Buddy Fite is nonetheless one of jazz guitar's most formidable talents. His technique -- full of Kenny Burrell-style bluesy bends, Les Paulglissandos and piano-like chords that invoke Art Tatum -- is traditional, yet astonishing. The title of this album is no mere catchphrase, but the musical heart and soul of sounds presented here, with not a wasted or overblown note anywhere to be found. With fine small combo readings of "Here's That Rainy Day," "Make It With Me" and "Moonlight in Vermont" sitting alongside bop exercises like "Tune Up," "Barney's Tune" and "Sneakin' One," Fite's mastery of his instrument is evident. Unfortunately, there are no personnel listings, which is a real shame as Fite obviously collaborated with a number of rhythm sections, horn, string and keyboard combinations, and all of their contributions are equally tasty and supportive.

1 Princess (James) 0:00
2 Here's That Rainy Day (Burke, Van Heusen) 5:02
3 Make It With Me (Gates) 7:32
4 I Can't Get Started (Duke, Gershwin) 11:56
5 Tune Up (Davis ?) 16:10 
6 Barney's Tune (Kessel) 19:07
7 Sneakin' One (?) 23:25 
8 Angel Eyes (Brent, Dennis) 27:50
9 Willow Weep For Me (Ronell) 30:22
10 No Particular Blues (?) 34:02
11 Moonlight in Vermont (Blackburn, Suessdorf) 38:57
12 A Day in the Life of a Fool [Black Orpheus] (Bonfá) 43:19

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário