terça-feira, 23 de agosto de 2016

Mendelssohns | Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor (op. 25) | Yuja Wang

Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor (op. 25) 
Yuja Wang, piano
Verbier Festival Orchestra
Kurt Masur, direction Yuja Wang (piano)  

Mendelssohn's Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor (op. 25) was written in 1830--1, around the same time as his fourth symphony ("Italian"), and premiered in Munich in October 1831. He had already written a piano concerto in A minor with string accompaniment (1822) and two concertos with two pianos (1823--4). The three connected movements —

Molto allegro con fuoco in G minor
Andante in E major
Presto—Molto allegro e vivace in G major
use several relatively new formal techniques in their brief span — for example, the piano enters very soon after the opening of the first movement, with little of an orchestral tutti to contrast with.[1] The concerto quickly obtained popularity, and contains many sections of improvisation, one of Mendelssohn's specialities.

Kurt Masur (18 July 1927 – 19 December 2015) was a German conductor. Called "one of the last old-style maestros",[1] he directed many of the principal orchestras of his era. He had a long career as the Kapellmeister of the Gewandhaus, and also served as music director of the New York Philharmonic.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário