domingo, 24 de abril de 2016

Bill Evans | New Jazz Conceptions

Bill Evans' debut as a leader found the 27-year-old pianist already sounding much different than the usual Bud Powell-influenced keyboardists of the time. Even in 1956 (more than a year before he joined the Miles Davis Sextet), Evans had his own chord voicings and a lyrical yet swinging style. Three selections here are taken solo (including the original version of his classic "Waltz for Debby"), while the other eight are performed in a trio with bassist Teddy Kotick and drummer Paul Motian (including his future theme "Five," "Speak Low" and "No Cover, No Minimum"). A strong start to a significant career.

00:00 I Love You (Cole Porter)
03:56 Five (Bill Evans)
07:59 I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) (Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster)
09:38 Conception (George Shearing)
14:26 Easy Living (Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger)
18:19 Displacement (Evans)
20:55 Speak Low (Kurt Weill, Ogden Nash)
26:06 Waltz for Debby (Evans, Gene Lees)
27:27 Our Delight (Tadd Dameron)
32:14 My Romance (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart)
34:15 No Cover, No Minimum [Take 1] (Evans)
42:30 No Cover, No Minimum

Personel: Bill Evans (p) Teddy Kotick (b) Paul Motian (dr)
Released: End of February 1957
Recorded: September 18 and 27, 1956 New York City
Label: Riverside RLP 12-223
Producer: Bill Grauer, Orrin Keepnews

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário